Of Fishy Milk and Winey Whiskey

R. Aryeh Klapper writes:

Products that are kosher only without a heksher

Many years ago Garelick Farms decided to market its milk all-natural, which meant that it needed a natural source of Vitamin D – and it chose shark oil. This had at least two consequences: Hood Dairy began running an ad with the tagline “There’s something fishy about Garelick Farms milk”, and the KVH (this was long before I became involved) pulled its hashgachah.

Garelick Farms sued Hood, arguing that the fish was imperceptible, and won – the (non-Jewish) judge tasted the milk and agreed there was no fish taste. I therefore ruled that the milk was kosher because the KVH had pulled its hashgachah.

The judge’s taste test demonstrated that the shark oil was nullified (certainly the percentage was below 1/60 anyway), so the only remaining issue was deliberate nullification (bittul lekhatchilah), which makes a product prohibited to the person or person for whose benefit the nullification occurred.

R. Akiva Eiger (YD 99:5) states that a nullification done with no specific end-user in mind, but rather for “whomever will wish to buy”, is considered to be done for the benefit of all eventual purchasers. One understanding of this position is that anything consciously produced with observant Jews in mind has that issue, even if the observant Jews are a trivial percentage of the intended audience. However, by giving up its kosher certification, Garelick Farms demonstrated that it did not have any concern for observant Jews, and therefore the milk was kosher because it had lost its hekhsher.

Paradoxically, had the KVH accepted this argument and sought to restore the hekhsher, the milk would have become treif. My contrarian ambition was to develop a list of products that were kosher only when unhekhshered, as many industrial koshering procedures ultimately depend on some form of nullification. (Note however that this broad interpretation of the prohibition is not obvious either in R. Akiva Eiger or in his cited source, Responsa Rivash 498, and is not followed consistently in practice today; see for example Igrot Moshe YD 1:62-63.)

I thought this was a compelling but creative psak, and to make sure I really believed it, I went out and bought a quart of milk and drank a glass before paskening that anyone else could do so. But Dov Weinstein shows me that in the current issue of Tradition my teacher Rabbi J. David Bleich makes the same argument. Here is his quote.1

“Paradoxically, according to R. Akiva Eger, a product that otherwise would be permitted may become forbidden by virtue of the fact that it is certified as kosher. Products produced for the mass market are not produced for the benefit of Jews. Accordingly, if some small quantity of a non-kosher ingredient is present, but nullified, the product is permissible. The same product, if produced for a Jew, according to the opinion of R. Akiva Eger, even for an unspecified, anonymous Jew, is prohibited.

Kosher certification is sought by a producer precisely because he wishes to market his product to the Jewish consumer. Targeting the Jewish consumer as a potential customer creates a situation in which nullification is carried out expressly for the benefit of a Jew and hence, according to R. Akiva Eger, a Jew may not benefit from such nullification. Accordingly, stem-cell burgers might be produced that are indeed kosher but they would become prohibited if labeled as such!”

Barukh shekivanti ledaat mori!

This same position of R. Bleich and R. Klapper is also expressed by someone rather further to the right on the Orthodox spectrum: Rav Moshe Shternbuch, who concludes with the

“great lesson, that sometimes a הכשר that is not מהודר and relies on ביטולים makes things worse, since without a הכשר it is permitted since it was not mixed together for the sake of Jews, … but when there is a הכשר, since then they are being מבטל for the benefit of Jews, it is forbidden, and in such circumstances with a הכשר it is worse than without a הכשר.

אמנם נראה שאין להסכים שרבנים יעניקו הכשר על סמך ביטול, דכשהגוי מיצר יום אחד במיוחד עם הכשר, אז הלוא מבטל בשביל יהודים דוקא וזה אסור, … וכן מבואר בשו”ת הרדב”ז (שם) דהא כתב וז”ל, והדבר ידוע הוא שאסור דהוה בשעה שלוקחו מן העכו”ם כאלו מבטלו לכתחלה, ואם כן יש לפרש דהיינו כשידוע כשעושה כדי למכור לישראל דאז הוי כמבטלו לכתחלה.

ולפי זה נראה דאם קונה מהשוק וכבר נתבטל אין בזה איסור אף בקנה, אבל כשקונה בהכשר, וסומכין על ביטול ברוב, כיון שמערב בשביל יהודים גרע ואסור, הרי לדברינו לימוד גדול, דפעמים שהכשר כשהוא לא מהודר וסומכין על ביטולים מגרע, שבלי הכשר מותר כיון שלא עירב עבור יהודים, ובקנייה לא נקרא מבטל איסור, אבל כשיש הכשר שאז מבטל לצורך יהודים אסור, וכה”ג בהכשר גרע מאשר בלי הכשר.

ושפיר נראה ליזהר כשאנו מעניקים הכשר למאכל שנעשה בהשגחתינו, ומעורב שם איסור, אין סומכין על ביטול, כיון שאז נתבטל עבור היהודים וההכשר מגרע, ולא מועיל הביטול, ואסור גם בדיעבד.2

R. Feivel Cohen, too, maintains that the granting of a הכשר to a food whose production includes the admixture of forbidden ingredients renders the food forbidden:

והנה לפי זה היה נראה להתיר נתינת הכשר לתוצרת נכרים שנותנים במאכל איזשהו איסור כל שיש בו ס’ כנגדו ואפילו כשרוב הקונים ישראל … וגם הא דקונים אותו מהנכרי אין בזה איסור מכיון שכבר נתבטל וכנ”ל ונמצא לכאורה שאין בזה צד איסור להישראל הקונה

אמנם נראה דאינו כן דכל זה כשביטלו הנכרי מעצמו אבל המפקח הנותן הכשר הרי מצווה על ככה לעשות באופן שהאיסור יתבטל וכל שציווהו הישראל הו”ל כאילו עשהו הישראל בעצמו וכה”ג אסור כנ”ל דהו”ל כישראל המבטל איסור לכתחלה, כנלע”ד:3

I am not sure, however, how persuasive these arguments are in the general case of הכשרים. While it is certainly reasonable that if a certifying agency instructs the producer to utilize a certain process that includes the admixture of forbidden ingredients, this admixture would then be considered to have been done on behalf of Jews, this seems much less clear with regard to a process that has been designed by the producer, where the certifying agency is merely being asked for its imprimatur. Perhaps these authorities reason that since if the certifying agency were to deny certification to the current process, the producer would cooperate with the certifier to find a mutually satisfactory alternative, it follows that whatever process is acceptable to the certifier is considered to be for the benefit of Jews. But even if we accept this logic, it would still seem to apply only to situations where the producer is able and willing to modify its process at the certifier’s behest. In cases where this is not an option, where if the certifier were to deny certification, the producer would simply operate without certification (or find a more lenient certifier), it seems difficult to argue that the mere decision to seek certification renders the preexisting process as being for the benefit of Jews.

Furthermore, Rav Moshe Feinstein, in the course of his famous dispute with Rav Pinchas Teitz over the permissibility of blended whiskeys that contained sherry wine and glycerin,4 adopts a stance that arguably implies a more lenient approach to our question as well. Rav Moshe declares that it is obvious that since most of the whiskey is sold to non-Jews, the whiskey is considered to have been produced for non-Jews and therefore permitted to Jews:

ומדין אין מבטלין איסור לכתחלה שאסור במזיד אם הפעקטערי של היין שרף הוא של ישראל ואסור אף למי שנתבטל בשבילו כדאיתא בסימן צ”ט סעיף ה’ וכיון שעשה למכור הוא כמו שנעשה בשבילם כדכתב בחדושי רע”א בשם הריב”ש. הא פשוט שכיון שרוב היין שרף נמכר לעכו”ם נחשב במה שנעשה למכור כנעשה בשביל הרוב כמו בהובא מחוץ לתחום שנחשב שהובאו להעכו”ם כשהרוב הוא עכו”ם …5.

Responding to R. Teitz’s objection that insofar as the Jewish customer base is significant, and therefore taken into account by the producer in determining the production quantity, the whiskey is considered to have been produced at least in part for Jews, R. Moshe argued that the fact of the increased production due to the Jewish customer base does not matter for a variety of reasons, the first of which we cite here:

ומש”כ כתר”ה שכין שהרבה ישראל קונים אף שהם המעוט מרבים בשבילם ולכן דומה זה להא דמרבים להביא מחוץ לתחום בשביל ישראל המועטים שאסור כדאיתא בעירובין דף מ’. הנה לא חששתי לזה מכמה טעמים שיש בבטול הזה להתיר.

חדא דמסתבר דכיון דהוא בשביל קנס לא שייך אלא בעשה איסור בבטולו דהוא כשערב לאוכלו הוא עצמו או ישראל אחר אבל באם עירב להאכיל לעכו”ם שלא עשה איסור דהא כיון שרשאי למכור לו האיסור גופיה ליכא שום איסור בהתערובות לא שייך לקונסו. ולכן אף אם נימא שכיון שיש גם מעוט ישראלים הקונים כגון חלק עשירי נמצא שאחד מעשרה עשו עבור ישראל שנעשה בזה איסור שיש לקונסו על כל פנים הא יש תשעה שלא עשה בהו איסור שאין לקנוס עלייהו ומותרין וכל דפריש מרובא פריש. ואין לומר דכיון שבמידי דרבנן יש ברירה יש לנו לומר הוברר הדבר שאלו שקנאו ישראלים הם דאיסורא, הא רוב ראשונים סברי דמה שיש ברירה בדרבנן הוא מצד ספק דרבנן לקולא ואם כן הכא דהוא לחומרא אין לומר ברירה אף שהוא מידי דרבנן. ולא דמי להביא מחוץ לתחום שאינו מצד קנס על עשית איסורים שאין שייך זה על מה שמוכרים העכו”ם דהעכו”ם הא לא עשה איסורים אלא הוא איסור שאסרו על מלאכת יום טוב כשנעשו בשביל ישראל וכיון שמרבים בשביל המעוט ישראלים הוי כנעשו הכל גם בשביל ישראל שיש לאסור. …6

According to R. Moshe, a product that is produced via a process involving ביטול does not become prohibited to Jews insofar as Jews are only a minority of the total customer base, since only a pro rata portion of the production is actually prohibited, and any particular sample of the product is permitted under the rule of כל דפריש מרובא פריש. While R. Moshe was not discussing giving a הכשר to such a product – on the contrary, his entire goal was to establish that contra R. Teitz, blended whiskeys did not (מעיקר הדין) require a הכשר – his argument should apply equally to a product with a הכשר, as long as the basic premise that only a minority portion of the production is intended for Jews remains true. [The act of awarding the הכשר might be problematic, but this would not engender a prohibition upon the product after the fact, due to the principle of כל דפריש, as above.]

I discuss this topic, among others related to purchasing food produced by non-Jews, in a recent haburah, available at the Internet Archive.

  1. Tradition 46:4, p. 62 []
  2. שו”ת תשובות והנהגות חלק א’ סימן ת”מ []
  3. בדי השלחן סימן צ”ט סעיף ה’ ביאורים סוף ד”ה שנתבטל בשבילו [עמוד פב] []
  4. See. R. J. David Bleich, The Whiskey Brouhaha, in Tradition 34:2 pp. 58-77 and Contemporary Halakhic Problems, Vol. V, Chapter VIII. []
  5. שו”ת אגרות משה יו”ד חלק א’ סימן ס”ב ד”ה ומדין אין מבטלין []
  6. שם סימן ס”ג ד”ה ומש”כ כתר”ה.‏‏ Cf. Tradition ibid. pp. 71-72. []

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *